Since 1959, the men and women of the St. John's Fire District have protected 185 square miles of the barrier islands of John's, Kiawah, Seabrook, and Wadmalaw.


About Us

The South Carolina Legislative Act 369 created the St. John's Fire District in April of 1959. The District is comprised of four barrier islands covering a land mass of approximately 185 square miles. These islands are John's, Kiawah, Seabrook and Wadmalaw.

The St. John's Fire District is governed by a nine member commission which is appointed by the Governor based on recommendations by Charleston County Council. Each of the four islands has representation on the commission which participates in monthly commission meetings and other functions as necessary.

The St. John's Fire District currently has seven fully staffed fire stations. There are three stations located on John's Island, two stations located on Kiawah Island, one station located on Seabrook Island and one station located on Wadmalaw Island. The district has seven front line pumper/tankers, two aerial apparatus, one rescue apparatus and one tender. 

The St. John's Fire District currently employs 145 personnel of which 129 are fire suppression certified. The district also maintains its own maintenance division with three personnel and an administrative staff with five personnel. 

The St. John's Fire District utilizes a three shift rotation providing emergency services twenty four hours a day, seven days a week. Minimum daily staffing is thirty five fire suppression rated personnel and one Battalion Chief to perform all emergency services and maintain the daily operations through the district. An officer is assigned to each fire station to manage the operation throughout the day. 

The St. John's Fire District is made up of a group of dedicated men and women striving to improve the level of life and fire safety to the residents and guests of our community and is constantly seeking ways to improve on the standards set forth by the Federal, State and local Governments as well as National Consensus Standards.